How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post Reply
kovtunos
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:18 am

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by kovtunos »

Or may be the new option like a drop-down list in preferences need?

I'm using en.US locale for LC_MESSAGES but sometimes I need to look up my russian translation.
Running as LANG=ru_RU.UTF-8 guayadeque doesn't solves the problem also.

User avatar
anonbeat
Posts: 1994
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:47 pm

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by anonbeat »

What I do is run from console LANG=ru_RU guayadeque

This is something I want to make configurable also.

Thanks for your help

kovtunos
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:18 am

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by kovtunos »

LANG=ru_RU guayadeque shows english interface. But it really would be nice to make it easy configurable.

User avatar
anonbeat
Posts: 1994
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:47 pm

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by anonbeat »

do you have installed ru_RU language support? what outputs guayadeque in the console when tries to set the lang ?

kovtunos
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:18 am

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by kovtunos »

$ LANG=ru_RU guayadeque
15:12:00: Initialized locale ( en_US )
15:12:00: Mount Added...
...

$ locate guayadeque.mo | grep ru
/usr/share/locale/ru/LC_MESSAGES/guayadeque.mo

System of course has ru_RU support.

kovtunos
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:18 am

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by kovtunos »

Now I have tried to apply this method to other applications and it also doesn't work...
Apparently it is the system locale problem because it had worked previously.

User avatar
anonbeat
Posts: 1994
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:47 pm

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by anonbeat »

Just commited to svn the changes to allow to select language from Preferences -> General

Its in svn revision 1674

Thanks for your help

Of course your system must have support for this language for it to work.

kovtunos
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:18 am

How can I run the program with the language different from s

Post by kovtunos »

Thanks. It works!

Post Reply