Translations now online

Use this category to discuss anything related to the development of Guayadeque.
Post Reply
kinggo
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 am

Translations now online

Post by kinggo » Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:16 pm

ooooopppps........... it looks like I messed something with IT translation. I think I fixed it now. But I have to say that I'm very confused with that online translator. I'm using the old one now, it seems more straight forward.

Anyhow, this for instance.........
#: PlayerPanel.cpp:307
msgid "Show the current position and song length of the current track"
If I understand correctly, song is actually that current track. If so, it should be something like "Show the current position and length of the current track".
And "song" is quite often used word. If I counted correctly, it repeats 28 times in guayadeque_guayadeque.pot and that is the original file. I'm far from native english speaker but there are some terms that sound weird to me.

I'll try to finish this and than use it in player with all options on to see how decent it looks. I'll let U know when I think it's good enough to be a part of your work.

kinggo
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 am

Translations now online

Post by kinggo » Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:51 pm

or this..........
Randomize the tracks in playlist Occurrences: PlayerPanel.cpp:253
vs.
Randomize the songs in the playlist Occurrences: PlayList.cpp:1602, PLSoListBox.cpp:161


or this...
String ID: Delete from Drive Occurrences: PlayList.cpp:1628, SoListBox.cpp:643
and then
String ID: Remove the selected tracks from drive Occurrences: PlayList.cpp:1629
It should be the same, right? Either delete or remove.

kinggo
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 am

Translations now online

Post by kinggo » Sun Feb 24, 2013 12:33 pm

I can't change language at all. Not even to the ones that are already present in guayadeque.

And one more question. Can you clarify a bit "collection" and "library". I have only one collection with only one path and I see everything in library view. I'm confused here, String ID: View the collection library
what is library in the collection? THX

User avatar
anonbeat
Posts: 1946
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:47 pm

Translations now online

Post by anonbeat » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:44 am

@kingoo: In the example you posted is open the library view for the collection

I used library view when you have the panes with different fields and values. The collection is a group of files from the paths you specified.

kinggo
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 am

Translations now online

Post by kinggo » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:59 am

OK, so something like this.......... Collection is something that guayadeque sees but what is presented to user is library.
Anyway, I'll think of something when I get to that. But I can't change language.

kinggo
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 am

Translations now online

Post by kinggo » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:46 am

How to change a language? Change in prefrences does nothing. I tried even with version from ubuntu repo on other computer and language is always english. I can see the change in configuration file but not in the player.

User avatar
anonbeat
Posts: 1946
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:47 pm

Translations now online

Post by anonbeat » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:49 am

@kinggo : first you must have installed the locale in your system. If you dont have it you can create it using locale-gen utility. Once you have it you can start guayadeque with the LANG var in the param set to the lang you want. Configure guayadeque to use default.
For example : LANG=es_ES.UTF-8 guayadeque

kinggo
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 am

Translations now online

Post by kinggo » Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:13 pm

OK, I somehow managed to get croatian language. Now I'll have to fix a lot of things there to make it at least half decent.

kinggo
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 am

Translations now online

Post by kinggo » Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:29 pm

well, I think that now it's good enough to go public.

call_a3
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:21 am

Translations now online

Post by call_a3 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:43 am

Some strings in the translations file are ambiguous. In particular, some strings that should belong together are now seperated. One concrete example is the following: "Albums", "to" & "of" are now seperate strings, but are used together in the status bar when Album browser is active. In this situation, the status bar reads the message: "Albums {from} to {to} of {total}".

Wouldn't it be better if you had a parameterized string in the translation source, e.g. "Displaying albums {from} to {to} of {total}" which could then be translated as a whole. (In Dutch that would become "Albums {from} tot {to} van {total} worden getoond")? This approach would simplify the translation process (translators get a better indication of the context in which a particular word/sentence/.. is used) and also allow the translations to be more accurate and/or context-appropriate.

I remember there are multiple occurences of this issue, but I can't remember what strings they involve. I'll post more when I find them.

Post Reply